Tour Type: Daily Tour
Duration: One-day
Departure days: Do
Languages: English

Tour Schedule

Abstieg durch die Judäische Wüste zum Toten Meer, vorbei am Gasthaus zum barmherzigen Samariter und Jericho. Auffahrt mit der Seilbahn zum Herodes Palast / Festung von Masada, wo die Zeloten von den Römern 73 n.Chr. überwältigt wurden. Wanderung, ohne Führung, über gut markierte Weg im Ein Gedi Naturschutzgebiet. Straßen-Ansicht der Höhlen, in denen die Schriftrollen...

Highlights

Diese Tour erfordert eine Mindestteilnehmerzahl. Für Details kontaktieren Sie bitte unser Team.
Empfohlen werden gute Wanderschuhe, Kopfbedeckung und Wasser. (Badeanzug zum Schwimmen im Toten Meer, wenn es die Zeit zulässt.)
Der Spaziergang durch das Naturschutzgebiet dauert etwa 1,5 Stunden.

Language Schedule

S M D M D F S
English

Pickup Places and Prices

From Jerusalem
Pick up time 08:30
Price per person:
Price: $114
From Tel Aviv
Pick up time 07:15
Price per person:
Price: $124
From Netanya
Pick up time 06:30
Price per person:
Price: $124
From Herzliya
Pick up time 07:00
Price per person:
Price: $124

What To Expect

Während wir 1200 Meter von Jerusalem durch die Wildnis der Judäischen Wüste zum Toten Meer hinabsteigen, passieren wir das Gasthaus zum barmherzigen Samariter und stoppen kurz an der "Meeresspiegel"-Markierung. In der Ferne sehen wir Jericho, die älteste Stadt der Welt, vielleicht wegen ihrer üppigen Oasen und der Nähe zum Toten Meer und einer alten Salzquelle. Wir erinnern uns an die Eroberung von Jericho von den israelitischen Stämmen, angeführt von Joshua, der gerade über den Jordan-Fluss in das verheißene Land gekommen war (Josh 6).
Weiter geht es entlang der Küste des Toten Meeres nach Masada. Während wir in der Seilbahn absteigen, betrachten wir den Schlangenweg, der vor zweitausend Jahren verwendet wurde, als König Herodes diese Festung wie einen Palast bewohnte. In der Tat gab zwei Paläste, sowie ein Schwimmbad und ein gut erhaltenes schönes Badehaus.
Von einer kleinen römischen Legion nach dem Tod des Herodes verwaltet, wurde es zu Beginn des jüdischen Aufstands gegen die Römer von jüdischen Zeloten belagert, was in der Zerstörung des Zweiten Tempels im Jahr 70 n.Chr. seinen Höhepunkt fand. Wir stehen über der Rampe, die für die Römer von ihren jüdischen Sklaven gebaut wurde und das Durchbrechen der Wand nach drei Jahren der Belagerung erleichterte.
Die Synagoge, die von Herodes gebaut wurde, erwies sich für diejenigen als Beweis, die bezweifelten, dass es Synagogen auch gab, während der zweite Tempel noch stand. Wir sehen, wo das erste Stück Pergament in einer israelischen archäologischen Ausgrabung entdeckt wurde. Und darauf, lesbar mit dem bloßen Auge, waren die Worte des Propheten Ezechiel, die "trockene Knochen" Prophezeiung, endend mit dem Versprechen: "Ich will die Kinder Israels aus den Nationen nehmen ... und sie bringen in ihr eigenes Land ... und die Nationen sollen wissen, dass ich, der Herr, Israel heilige ... " (Ez 37)
Auf der Rückfahrt halten wir in der Oase Ein Gedi, in der David sich vor dem Zorn des Königs Saul versteckte (I Sam 24:1ff). Hier sind Sie in der Lage, entlang der gut markierten Weg durch das einzigartige Naturschutzgebiet zu wandern, die, obwohl sie mitten in der trockenen Wüste liegt, per Definition tropisch ist.
Die meisten der vierzig tropischen Pflanzenarten konzentrieren sich in der Nähe der Quelle. Es gibt auch zahlreiche Vogelarten, darunter der Tristramstar, der nur in dem Gebiet, das sich vom Jemen durch Sinai bis zum Arava erstreckt, zu finden ist. Unter den vielen Tieren in Ein Gedi gibt es auch ein "Refugium für wilde Steinböcke und Felsen für die Coney" (Ps 104:18)
Auf der Rückfahrt schauen wir uns die Höhlen von Qumran an, wo die 2000 Jahre alten Schriftrollen vom Toten Meer entdeckt wurden.

Additional Information

  • Die Tour wird von September bis Mai geführt und unterliegt Wetterbedingungen.
  • Die Eintrittsgebühr zum Naturschutzgebiet nicht inbegriffen.
  • Es wird ein Wechsel des Fahrzeugs nötig, um Zeit zu sparen und verkehrstechnische Verzögerungen zu vermeiden!
  • Ein Transfer zum Flughafen ist für zusätzliche $65 pro Person verfügbar.

Cancellation Policy

  • Cancellation fee of 4% charged for notification up to 2 days in advance.
  • Cancellation fee of 25% charged for notification up to 1 days in advance.
  • Cancellation fee of 100% charged for notification on the day of the tour.
  • Non Show - 100% Cancellation fees

FAQ

Tours You May Like

Masada und Totes Meer

From $108

Jerusalem und dem Toten Meer

From $104

Desert Safari Private Tour

From $150

A brief overview of the tour

Descend through the Judean Desert to the Dead Sea, passing the Inn of the Good Samaritan and Jericho. Ascend by cable car to the Herodian palace/fortress on Masada where the Zealots were overcome by the Romans in 73 CE. Walk, without a guide, the well-marked trail in the Ein Gedi Nature Reserve. Roadside View of the caves in which the Dead Sea Scrolls were discovered at Qumran.

Important and useful notes

  • The tour is operated from¬†September until May and subjected to weather conditions.

  • Entry fee to Nature reserve not included.

  • Change of vehicle required for transfers of pick up / drop off destinations to save time,

    avoid traffic and delay!

  • Please be at your pick up point on time. There might be some delay (up to 20 minutes) due to traffic or other operational issues
  • Airport drop off is available for additional 65$ per person

  • This tour requires a minimum number of participants, for details contact our operation¬†team.

  • Recomended good walking shoes, hat & water.

  • Nature Reserve Walk is approx. 1.5 hours and without a guide.

A detailed description of the tour

As we descend 1,200 meters from Jerusalem through the wilderness of the¬†Judean Desert¬†to the Dead Sea, we pass the¬†Inn of the Good Samaritan¬†and stop briefly at the ‚Äúsea level‚ÄĚ marker. In the distance we see¬†Jericho, the oldest city in the world, perhaps due to its luxuriant oasis and its proximity to the Dead Sea, an ancient source of salt and we recall the conquest of Jericho by the Israelite tribes, led by Joshua, who had just crossed the Jordan River into the Promised Land.¬† (Josh 6).

We continue along the shores of the Dead Sea to Masada. As we ascend in the cable car, we look down at the Snake path which was used two thousand years ago when King Herod built this fortress cum palace. In fact, there were two palaces, as well as a swimming pool and a well-preserved beautiful bath-house.

Maintained by a small Roman legion after the death of Herod, it was seized by Jewish zealots at the beginning of the Jewish revolt against the Romans which culminated in the destruction of the Second Temple in the year 70 CE. We stand over the ramp, built for the Romans by their Jewish slaves, which facilitated the breaching of the wall after three years of siege.

The synagogue, which was built by Herod, proved conclusively to those who doubted that there were synagogues even while the Second Temple stood. We see where the first piece of parchment to be discovered in an Israeli archaeological excavation was found. And on it, legible to the naked eye were the words of the prophet Ezekiel, the ‚Äúdry bones‚ÄĚ prophecy, ending with the promise ‚ÄúI will take the children of Israel from among the nations ‚Ķ and bring them in to their own land ‚Ķ and the nations shall know that I the Lord do sanctify Israel ‚Ķ‚ÄĚ (Ezek 37)

On our return journey we stop at the oasis of Ein Gedi where David hid from the wrath of King Saul (I Sam 24:1ff). Here you will be able to walk along the well-marked trail through the unique nature reserve which, although in the middle of the arid wilderness is tropical by definition.

Most of the forty tropical plant species are concentrated close to the spring. There are also numerous birds, including the Tristram grackle which is to be found only in the area stretching from Yemen through Sinai and to the Arava. Among the many animals to be found Ein Gedi is also a ‚Äúrefuge for the wild ibex and the rocks for the coney‚ÄĚ.¬† (Ps 104:18)

On our return journey we will view the caves at Qumran where the two thousand year old Dead Sea Scrolls were discovered.

 

Picture gallery

Order this tour now